MSJ Geometry Prize

The MSJ Geometry Prize was established in 1987. It was made possible by the donations of many mathematicians working in geometry.

The prize is awarded in recognition of results of particular significance, high quality research over a sustained period of time, or books which have been particularly influential. It encompasses geometry in a wide sense, including differential geometry, topology, and algebraic geometry. It may be awarded to groups of collaborators as well as individuals.

On the basis of the above criteria, the Geometry Prize Committee considers suitable candidates and awards at most two prizes per year. In addition to the prize money, each awardee receives an aluminum model of the pseudo-sphere.

Donations to the prize fund are welcome. Please contact a member of the Mathematical Society of Japan for details.


List of Recipients

Year Recipients
1987 Akio Kawauchi
Shoshichi Kobayashi
1988 Hirotaka Fujimoto
1989 Kenji Fukaya
Yoshio Muto
1990 Akito Futaki
1991 Masaru Takeuchi
Takashi Tsuboi
1992 Akira Fujiki
Norihito Koiso
1993 Tomoyoshi Yoshida
1994 Ryoichi Kobayashi
Tadashi Nagano
1995 Masaaki Umehara and Kotaro Yamada
1996 Hideki Omori
1997 Shigetoshi Bando
Hiraku Nakajima
1998 Masahiko Kanai
Tomotada Ohtsuki
1999 Kaoru Ono
Takao Yamaguchi
2000 Sadayoshi Kojima
Takeo Ohsawa
2001 Reiko Miyaoka
2002 Kazuyoshi Kiyohara
Hajime Tsuji
2003 Kengo Hirachi
Shigenori Matsumoto
2004 Seiichi Kamada
Shin Nayatani
2005 Koji Fujiwara
Ryushi Goto
2006 Toshiki Mabuchi
Takashi Shioya
2007 Shigeyuki Morita
Ken-Ichi Yoshikawa
2008 Kazuo Habiro
2009 Ko Honda
Yoshikata Kida
2010 Kazuo Akutagawa
Nobuhiro Honda
2011 Shin-ichi Ohta
Kyoji Saito
2012 Ken'ichi Ohshika
Yukinobu Toda
2013 Toshitake Kohno
Katsutoshi Yamanoi
2014 Masatake Kuranishi
2015 Hiroshi Iritani
Osamu Saeki
2016 Teruhiko Soma
Shigeharu Takayama
2017 Osamu Kobayashi
Makoto Sakuma
2018 Yuji Odaka
Shouhei Honda
2019 Kei Irie
Masaki Tsukamoto

Prospectus for the prize

The primary purpose of the Geometry Prize is to reward each year a mathematician who has published an outstanding paper, or who through his or her career has contributed to the advancement of geometry over a sustained period of time in various ways, including achievements related to the guidance of students. There is no age limit for award winners. Geometry will be interpreted in a wide sense, as outstanding results are being achieved beyond traditional boundaries, for example in areas related to topology, nonlinear partial differential equations in global analysis, and areas between mathematical physics and differential geometry.

The Iyanaga Prize is awarded for important work by mathematicians who are at most 40 years old, and who are expected to make further significant contributions in the future. At the same time, it is essential to recognize those whose contributions accumulate in a steady manner. By establishing the Geometry Prize it is our hope to supplement the Iyanaga Prize to honor those who contribute to the field of geometry in other ways.

The funds for this prize will come from various sources, including initial donations by a few volunteers, and further donations to the prize fund will be welcome. The Board of Trustees, representing diverse fields, will determine winners of the prize. The American Mathematical Society has various prizes as well as scholarships, and it is our hope that this prize will play a similar role in Japan. It is our pleasure that many have already unofficially supported this idea.

Morio Obata

Extract from Application to the Mathematical Society of Japan in 1986

Copyright © 2006 Mathematical Society of Japan Geometry Section. All Rights Reserved.